Up the Downstair

Being a weeklie podcaste from Madison, Wisconsin featuring several remarkable curiosities therein occurring being a compendium of live music from divers artistes

New Son Volt Album on the Horizon

December 9th, 2006

From the band:

‘The Search’ in stores March 6
Album Marks Farrar’s and Son Volt’s Most Diverse Record Yet

‘The Search,’ the intriguing new album from Son Volt, is set for release on March 6 on Transmit Sound/Legacy, and it’s by far the band’s most daring and diverse album yet. The follow-up to 2005’s acclaimed ‘Okemah and the Melody of Riot,’ ‘The Search’ is a startlingly powerful and inspiring departure from the band’s alt-country laden records, employing an exceptional variety of sounds, melodies, and arrangements.

“Instrumentally, the electric guitar was the focus of the last record ‘Okemah’, but for ‘The Search’ we wanted to try something new, ” says songwriter Jay Farrar. “This time, we utilized different instrumentation to fit each song — from guitar pedal loops to various keyboard sounds to horns.”

The piano of ‘Okemah’s’ gorgeous closing ballad “World Waits For You” returns here to open ‘The Search’ with the beautifully haunting processional “Slow Hearse.” Laced with Eastern-style electric guitar and Farrar’s signature vocals, the tune fades out to silence only to dive into ‘The Picture,’ a track that features an upbeat Memphis-style horn section combined with stirring lyrics that reflect on the current and future state of things, “when war is profit and profit is war.”

There’s the buzzing, Zeppelin-esque guitar of “Action”; the hypnotic, other-worldly riff of “Circadian Rhythm”; the vocal harmonizing of chanteuse Shannon McNally on “Highways and Cigarettes”; and the Big Brother commentary of title track “The Search,” a solid rock song delivered as only Son Volt can.

‘The Search’ features Jay Farrar (vocal, guitar, piano), Dave Bryson (drums), Derry DeBorja (keyboards), Andrew Duplantis (bass, backing vocals) and Brad Rice (guitar).

Jay Farrar, who is currently wrapping up a run of dates with Anders Parker as part of their side-band Gob Iron in support of the duo’s debut ‘Death Songs For The Living,’ will hit the road with Son Volt for a national tour in March.

“THE SEARCH” Track Listing
1. Slow Hearse
2. The Picture
3. Action
4. Underground Dream
5. Circadian Rhythm
6. Beacon Soul
7. The Search
8. Adrenaline and Heresy
9. Satellite
10. Automatic Society
11. Methamphetamine
12. L Train
13. Highways and Cigarettes
14. Phosphate Skin

Related posts:

  1. Son Volt News
  2. Son Volt News – April '06
  3. Show 1: On the Gramophone
  4. Son Volt Returns
  5. Show #74 – Uncle Tupelo's Farewell

3 Responses to “New Son Volt Album on the Horizon”

  1. Anonymous says:

    Can’t wait for this – “Okemah” is really an amazing record. Do you know if he employed the same group this time? – TGL

  2. David ST.Hubbins says:

    On a slightly related noted. How about a Gob Iron show? I’m pretty sure there are some torrents availible to folks in the know.

  3. Palmer says:

    The line-up is listed above. It looks to be the same, plus the keyboardist from the tour.

    I’ll keep an eye out for a Gob Iron show. Right now, I can’t post any shows due to an FTP problem. Hopefully I’ll be able to post soon. And keep an eye out for a Gob Iron gig.

Leave a Reply

WP-SpamFree by Pole Position Marketing

Powered by WordPress. Theme by Sash Lewis.