Up the Downstair

Being a weeklie podcaste from Madison, Wisconsin featuring several remarkable curiosities therein occurring being a compendium of live music from divers artistes

Minstrel in the Gallery is the Next Tull Remix

February 4th, 2015

The Jethro Tull remixes just keep coming. Next up is Minstrel in the Gallery.

minstrel remix cover <i>Minstrel in the Gallery</i> is the Next Tull Remix

There will be a single CD version, vinyl, and a “La Grandé” edition which features 2 CDs and 2 DVDs. Here is the tracklisting:

01. Minstrel In The Gallery
02. Cold Wind To Valhalla
03. Black Satin Dancer
04. Requiem
05. One White Duck
06. Baker St. Muse
07. Grace
08. Summerday Sands
09. Requiem
10. One White Duck
11. Grace
12. Minstrel In The Gallery-BBC Version
13. Cold Wind To Valhalla-BBC Version
14. Aqualung

01. Introduction
02. Wind Up
03. Critique Oblique
04. Wond ring Aloud
05. My God
06. Cross-Eyed Mary
07. Minstrel In The Gallery
08. Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day
09. Bungle In The Jungle
10. Aqualung
11. Guitar Solo
12. Back-Door Angels
13. Locomotive Breath

Other highlights from this multi-disc set include the obvious adds:

– Original album and seven bonus tracks (six previously unreleased), two mixed to 5.1 surround, and all to stereo by Steven Wilson
– Flat transfers of the original LP mix at 96/24 (plus Summerday Sands )
– Flat transfer of the original quad mix of the LP (plus Summerday Sands )
– An eight-minute film of the band performing Minstrel In The Gallery in Paris from July 1975

In contrast to the band’s previous deluxe edition remix extravaganza’s, Minstrel contains precious few studio outtakes. It looks like we’re getting alternate takes of “Requiem”, “One White Duck”, and “Grace”. Apparently there were no unreleased tunes sitting in the vault. Tull performed a few songs live from Monte Carlo where they were recording the album for the BBC. Abbreviated versions of “Cold Wind to Valhalla” and the title track appeared on Tull’s 20th anniversary box set as well as the 2002 Minstrel remaster. Here we get full versions of those songs plus “Aqualung”. Oddly, “Requiem” from that performance is absent.

CD 2 contains what I presume to be most of the band’s concert at the Palais des Sportes in Paris from 5 July 1975. “Critique Oblique” appeared on Tull’s 25th anniversary box set. The show was also filmed with a snippet of “Minstrel in the Gallery” being featured on the box set’s accompanying video release. Here we get the song in full on one of the DVDs. I don’t know what the setlist that night was and it could have been abbreviated for filming but the CD here is missing a few songs that were standard parts of the set. A lengthy excerpt from “Thick as a Brick” is in absentia as is “Ladies”, “SeaLion”, “WarChild Suite”, an instrumental version of “Reasons for Waiting”, plus soloing by Barriemore Barlow and Martin Barre. It’s early days and there’s no word as to why the entire concert video was not included.

I need to get a 5.1 surround system because I think that “Minstrel in the Gallery” and “Baker St. Muse” would sound fantastic.

Does anyone know how many other remixes are planned even if not done by Steve Wilson? “Velvet Green” would be amazing in 5.1.

Related posts:

  1. Jethro Tull Is Living in the Past
  2. Show #140: A Brace of New Tull Tunes
  3. Ian Anderson’s New Solo Album and A Passion Play Remix Coming Soon
  4. Megadeth Toons
  5. Show #107: Completely Under Wraps (Wind Up)

Leave a Reply

WP-SpamFree by Pole Position Marketing

Powered by WordPress. Theme by Sash Lewis.